Skip to content

Children in need

November 21, 2010

On Friday night it was children in need, and we pushed our application live onto the greenscreen. We found out the BBC wasn’t going to give us a data feed, we assumed we would get an XML file which would update itself, but instead we got a phone call every hour to give us the update. I would’ve thought the BBC would’ve found a bit more sophisticated way of displaying the data, it’s not like it’s private! Anyway, nothing we could do about it, we put my phone number down to recieve the phone calls, the first one came at 8pm and carried on until 11pm. To prepare myself for it, I wrote a basic PHP script which would update the XML file which our application read. The good thing about using the PHP script is that I could update it from my iPhone, so we just stayed in Air during the night.

The night went down surprisingly well, Dan made a video of the projections and the greenscreen. I haven’t got it yet, so sometime over the next week I’ll post it up when I get it. The BBC said they were going to record it, however we didn’t see any camera crews outside of the Roland Levinsky building, so I doubt they did. It was good fun, I’m glad I built it and it was lovely to see my work on the greenscreen.

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment